the little reveal: cubic casa is taking shape

Recently UpdatedHere is the latest on Cubic Casa. Today I finally got it to the point where I can show it off a bit. The curtains aren’t finished because I suck at sewing. Good thing Colleen is a teacher, because I wouldn’t say I was a quick learner and she is infinitely patient, even when it’s 6 o’clock on a Thursday and we’ve hardly made a dent. Bless her heart. I actually left on Friday wishing I had my own machine. It’s pretty fun!

So, this weekend we went to work on trying to scrub the mildew stains off the bunk window coverings. I had done my research on pop up explorer and other forums for pop up campers (seriously, there is this whole world out there of fanatics). I purchased this Bass Pro Shop cleaner stuff after seeing before and after photos that would blow your mind. I can’t believe anyone would buy a camper in that condition, but now I understand because it went from black and grey mold to white. Craziness. Anyway, we went to town, following this woman’s directions, and damn if it didn’t work. It looks so much better. Here is a photo that probably will not allow you to see the stains, but I’m going to try anyway. The part with the rectangle around it is where the stains were. See how it’s kind of darker there? It’s not a shadow, it’s greyed out from when the previous owner put it away wet. The stains were on all of the windows to some extent, but that one was more obvious than the others.

Screen Shot 2015-05-17 at 4.18.30 PMWe scrubbed it down with Woolite, soaking all the canvas, donned our face masks, and sprayed that stuff all over. The we scrubbed both sides and voila! Only one window even required a second go ’round of it. I am pretty sure I lost some brain cells from the toxic smell, but the windows look way better. Victory!

Next I threw on the final bit of paint (unless I paint the fridge, which could happen) and headed off to find some sheets to cover the ugly mattress covers with. I had snagged some throw pillows last weekend in Mankato and once those were in, it really felt like I’d made something beautiful after all! I cannot wait to get the curtains in there and then we’re planning to take her for her maiden voyage next weekend, just for one night though since we have so much to do before we take off for Santa Fe!

MQT camper

Before and After (in progress rather)

DSC_0023

Those grey spots were all over the inside before, but not now!

DSC_0025

Much improved!

DSC_0029 DSC_0026

DSC_0032

The new charger!

The rest of the weekend was consumed with cleaning up the ranch, meeting Rachel and Ben’s chickens, who I’ll be chickensitting next weekend, and having delicious kabobs at their place. Bryan cut the rest of the wood left over from the previous owners (we got a wood shed out of it already) into the right sizes for me to get a sauna! It won’t be happening before we leave, of course, but that’s pretty exciting nonetheless. Bryan also crossed off about 11 things from the spring list, which is pretty amazing. He added a piece of metal behind the fridge because the wood wall was getting a tad warm there, plus we added new hooks behind the stove for our utensils. He put in a new charger and an extra battery as well, so we’re getting more power and having to listen to the generator less. Next up, put my new faucet in the camper, among other things. DSC_0033   DSC_0030

Last weekend we headed down to Mankato to celebrate Mom Freyberg’s birthday and mother’s day. We also got to hike with the family at the farm, see Grandpa Simmet’s old stomping grounds in New Ulm, AND pick up our new ride for the summer, which Mom has graciously allowed us to use to pull the camper to Santa Fe! This thing has heated seats and crazy windshield wipers and headlights that know when to turn on! DSC_0031

We have some other big news around here! Because of the incredible generosity of Mom and Dad Freyberg and Grandpa Simmet, Circular Lodgic will be making a BIG change pretty soon. You’ll just have to wait and see about that! What could it be???

UPDATES 5/24/15:

DSC_0020 DSC_0017 DSC_0016 DSC_0015

3 thoughts on “the little reveal: cubic casa is taking shape

    • lucc0006 says:

      Thanks, Yurt Grrl! Yeah, that stuff is amazing! I’m slightly worried that it negatively affected the waterproofing, but it might just be the rig isn’t level right now. The poster I learned about it from said it didn’t hurt the waterproofing…

      Like

  1. Wow!! I love the popup and all you’ve done to it! Can I stay in it?? And what is the new thing at Circular Lodgic…what, what are you two up to??? Happy times!! Hard work, but it’s paying off…and you made the right decision on the popup. You are going to be so happy in Santa Fe!! love mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

