Great Blue Heron

Some of you may remember that about a year ago, I was on a hike with the pups when a great blue heron rose out of Swedetown Creek just a dozen steps ahead of us. She took flight over our heads and I was awestruck by her size and beauty.

Last week Bryan told me to make sure to spend at least one day of my spring break doing something that brought me joy, so I headed to Maasto Hihto with my camera for a hike. On that hike, we flushed up another heron on the creek and this time she landed on a branch just across the creek from us. The dogs barked and barked, but she was unflappable (sorry for that). She watched us and we watched her, but not until I threw my camera bag in the snow, whipped my zoom lens out, spilling all the other camera paraphernalia in there, and attached with eyes on her, the lens to my camera. I didn’t want to miss the chance to get a picture of her this time! Little did I know that she was patient. I waited her out since the dogs chilled out and stopped barking. When she took flight over our heads, I got some shots. This is my favorite. I know it’s not perfect: it won’t print well except in very small prints and it’s blurry. However, look at those legs! When I do get a shot that’s good, I sometimes feel it. I did with this one:

DSC_0030

Here are the rest of the shots:

DSC_0024 DSC_0022 DSC_0007 DSC_0005 DSC_0029 DSC_0037

Leave a Reply

