April 17th Snow Day

I am currently enjoying a five day weekend thanks to a snow day on Thursday! I had told the kids all day that I didn’t believe we would be having school the next day due to the storm headed our way. They didn’t believe me and when I got up to my alarm instead of the snow day text on Thursday, I was disappointed to say the least. I got ready, waded through a foot of snow down to the car and hit the road to work.

I was a third of the way there when the closings came across the radio: CLOSED. That also meant I went from chaperoning a dance that night to free for the day and night! Hurrah!

Anyway, I took it easy, graded some essays, grocery shopped, and read. Poor Bryan did damage control and then went to school. It was a lovely way to start a long weekend!

20140419-143148.jpg

updates on the a-frame

Last weekend was the first weekend I did not bring home papers to grade, so I got to a project.

At that time, Bry only had three weeks left of school, so things were getting stressful. He has had a good semester. His evaluations from his students were all 5s and he got many, many compliments. His evaluator (a professor) agreed with his last evaluator, saying he was the best TA she’d ever seen. That week we attended the math banquet, where she introduced Bryan to the president of the university, by saying, “He really is the best teacher I’ve ever seen.” When we went to sit down, all of our friends had already found tables and they were full, so we sat with her and her husband and the president and his wife. They were all very kind and interested in the yurt. Since they all have forestry backgrounds, they thought it was cool and the president and his wife had even lived in an Airstream for a year. Did I mention we got a free meal out of it? :-)

Anyway, Bry spent the weekend at school, preparing for a presentation he had on Tuesday, so I painted the rafters in the a-frame. I had planned to do this long ago, but then life happened. The weekend we moved in, I painted over the mouse piss stains on the rafters with BIN to block the stains and the odor, but I never got around to painting over it. I chose a bright turquoisey green color to match our Vine Maiden print. I was a little shocked by the color once it was up, but I do think it looks good. Here it is, but keep in mind the trim isn’t up!

20140419-142930.jpg

20140419-142937.jpg

20140419-142945.jpg

I also polyurethaned the window trim and a shelf by the sink. I threw the second coat of that on yesterday, so now that’s done too. It sure feels good to make progress. I cannot wait for BRyan to be done so that we can start on some of the BIG projects coming up around here!