a break in building

We’ve had to take a break in building for a while. I’m hoping to get some calls to sub this week since I am finally all set up with all the districts around here. Let’s just say the change in pay grade is kind of rough ’round here. We’ve had the chance to do some mountain biking and hiking and fall is most definitely here in the UP. Here are some sights from hikes and work days. DSC_0075 DSC_0070 DSC_0068 DSC_0067 DSC_0065 DSC_0063 DSC_0062 DSC_0059 DSC_0050 DSC_0038 DSC_0036 DSC_0035 DSC_0034 DSC_0033 DSC_0028

Since fall is officially here, it’s time to start cutting wood for the winter, so we built a woodshed yesterday out of the lumber that the previous owner left for us to use. It is ridiculously long 2x4s and ridiculously wide 1x14s? Anyway, we just need the roofing materials now and she’ll be ready for wood. It was a fun project and we got it done in a few hours. This was good news. I’m feeling a bit bummed, a little homesick, especially seeing pictures of my school’s first homecoming at the new football field. I’m sad to have missed it, but the perfect day yesterday and a fun project helped.

DSC_0027 DSC_0026 DSC_0024 DSC_0020 DSC_0016 DSC_0015 DSC_0010 DSC_0009 DSC_0006

Plus, I finished Jonathon Safran Foer’s Everything is Illuminated. Wow. I should have read it ages ago when I realized how brilliant he is after reading Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. To right like that… I’m jealous to say the least!

On Tuesday I went on a women’s group mountain bike ride and had a blast. The trails here are amazing. I’ll post some pictures later of the gnarly bridges and ramps they’ve got here. I most definitely went around them. I’m still pretty timid after my big fall this time last year. I do not need to have another fall and winter like that, so I’m taking it easy. It was fun to ride with a bunch of women, and while I couldn’t keep up on the uphill way back, maybe if I keep riding with them eventually I will!

 

 

One thought on “a break in building

  1. Wow! Your ability to create something out of leftovers is so cool. Are you going to try to cut and split enough wood by hand? I am impressed. Love the Fall pics. The girls sure do look like they are loving the space and freedom up there. Miss you guys and hope your support group keeps you from getting too lonely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

